Terrible Twins 1

Terrible Twins 2

Terrible Twins 3

Terrible Twins 7

Nine Circles of Heaven is an exploration of Sin as a concept perpetuated by western Catholic society and aims to question the authority of such doctrines when describing concepts like virtue and sin, good and bad.

Dante’s “Inferno” (part one of his “Divine Comedy”) describes nine circles of suffering located within the Earth representing the various levels of Sin from purgatory down to treachery. Using this lasting image of Hell as a basis for the project we are questioning our perceptions of Sin by transposing Hell into Heaven. The images use staging, costumes and props to create characters which represent the nine levels of Hell not as sinful but as virtuous.

Terrible Twins